Basil Tree- Moments Mall, Kirti Nagar, Delhi

What better way to spice up a Saturday afternoon than carrying your camera, a favorite book and heading to the nearest Italian restaurant?

After a series of nonchalant  discussions in my head regarding which restaurant to pick out, I decided to go with Basil Tree, lucky for me, they have an outlet very close to my house in Moments Mall, Kirti Nagar. Saved me the trauma of extensive travel!

On reaching I was received with a warm welcome by the friendly staff. I went there at a rather odd hour so the place was pretty empty, good for me though, I could photograph the meals better and enjoy every bite without the hustle bustle and stares towards the solitary eater. Yes, I prefer doing my reviews on my own so that I can concentrate wholly on the food.

Image

Image

You can see the kitchen and look at how neat it is kept! The OCD part of me loves it when I know that I am being served good clean food. The specialty of this place is, they are infamous for using fresh food and stay away from frozen preservative loaded products. They prepare your order from the scratch and leave you astounded with their food!

DSC_1529

What REALLY impressed me was their fresh and warm bread basket. As soon as you place your order they serve you with herbed warm bread and garlic and herbed slightly melted butter. Amazing. This is the most important requisite of fine dining, a lot of continental serving places throughout our country forget this integral part and that just makes them flippant at their services. But Basil Tree quite knows how to charm and kept this an integral part of their service! What to say, I was already taken!

bread basket

bread basket

I was pretty parched when I reached there and really wanted something to drink so I went with their coffee shake. For appetizer I wanted to go with something vegetarian for a change, I was craving mozzarella sticks for quite some time but the waitress carefully suggested the Basil Tree platter which turned out to be a great choice!

coffee shake

coffee shake

Basil Tree platter

Basil Tree platter

The platter had potato wedges, mozzarella sticks, jalapeno and cottage cheese croquets, onion rings and mint flavored tomato bruschettas served with marinara and chilli cheese dip! I loved it.

For main course, I went with their brick oven pizza! Not quite the traditional main course but when at an Italian place that offer pizzas baked in a brick oven, you need not choose anything else! I loved the smokey thin crust topped with sausages, pepperonis, pesto chicken and pancetta! Truly Italian in every sense!

Meat Lover's pizza

Meat Lover’s pizza

What made the whole experience even better was the friendliness of the staff and how they ensured I was truly taken care of. I loved their confidence knowing that they serve up to their standards and didn’t give me a chance to complain! Every order was perfectly cooked! Basil Tree gave me a chance to truly bask in the Italian experience after an exceptionally long time!

Would definitely go there again! :)