Yo China- Chinese enough?

I am a thorough Indian-Chinese lover, you know the kind with spice overload that leaves you with a runny nose and flushed face? Yes, I am one of those. I don’t understand food if it does not give me any kick. Also I am extremely fond of sweets. Does that make me an extremist? Always have been, always will be.

Keeping this in mind, i have often entered and exited a number of Chinese joints in and around the country. Yo China being one of the very famous Chinese joints, now found in possibly every part of the country, deserves a special mention. Years ago when I first tried the place with my friend, Navneet, I hated it. It was far too bland for my taste and being from Delhi University, we were more accustomed to better Chinese places which were crazy cheap and tasted great. The only thing that impressed me then was, their triple layered chocolate cake served on a bed of crunchy noodles along with a portion of ice-cream. It was yumm.

Apart from their desserts, since then, the place didn’t manage to amaze me much. However, during my recent roadtrip to Chandigarh, we found ourselves invariably sitting at Yo China (sec-9). And boy! Was I impressed? No. Did I atleast like it better? Yes. A typical Delhiwalli like me, we love our Yo China cafes far better where we can sit with a beer or any other cocktail, picking on dimsum baskets and finishing the affair with their glorious red velvet cake or brownie. But this one was good enough to be serving beer along with their meals. Great, I could sit through!

We started off with the famous Indian favorite, honey chilli potatoes and Tai Chi chicken along with a pitcher for the beermongers. The food seems to have gone through a number of changes since their commemoration. It is far more Indianized now. The spice levels are good and so has the quantity increased.

Image

Image

For main course in came our chilly garlic noodles, Kung pao chicken and a vegetarian dish, the name of which I couldn’t catch no matter how hard I tried. The chilly garlic noodles gave me a kick far more greater than I hoped for. Yes, the spice lover can be taken down too, sometimes.

Image

Image

Image

What is funny is they even serve “chimmi changas”! A far cry from anything oriental.

While I hate Chinese places like crazy noodles, the food here could be called okay, not great, but maybe I should go in there more often to get rid of my love for Chinese that Mumbai inculcated in me coming from their China Gate and 5 spice. On the plus side, it didn’t matter because we had great company.

Soon enough I will be back with something good about Yo China cafe though! 😀

