Bootlegger Cafe, where you may or may not shake that bootay!

Image

A particular close friend, on her birthday after much planning, discussing, rejecting, finalized the Bootlegger Cafe to throw her birthday treat and food connoisseur like me, we prey on people throwing birthday parties to add another review to our blogging site. Okay, kidding, but why waste an opportunity?

Image

We were disappointed the moment we entered the stairway leading up to 3rd floor where they cafe is located, dingy stairway, no lift, lazy bunch of snobby girls, not a great combination. But then all the heels and touched up faces, nobody wanted to go find another place while strutting around in the heat. So we settled and that was the best decision ever made even if it took us more than an hour to realize that.

Image

 

The cafe is set in three floors, the first one (read:3rd) seemed well suited to private parties or lusty teenagers looking to cozy up away from the prying eyes and the second one seemed more of a public place an open terrace designed to give a romantic vibe with low seating arrangement, white curtains, pretty plants, bird cages very much like Taylor Swift’s lovestory,

“Romeo, take me somewhere we can be alone.
I’ll be waiting; all that’s left to do is run.
You’ll be the prince and I’ll be the princess,
It’s a love story, baby, just say, ‘Yes.'”

After an hour of running after the waiters, hunting them down, placing our orders, the food arrived and yes all of them tasted lavishly good and I let my friend mutter, “Good things take time, Ana.” She knew I was fuming.

nothing really to describe here

nothing really to describe here

 

Image

Image

 

The crispy nachos were finished by eight famishing girls within minutes, the Margherita Pizza with hint of basil was relished by everyone. Then came the Chicken and Onion Skewers which the carnivorous population loved! (The chicken cubes more, onions, not so much)

Image

Also, these gang of girls cannot go anywhere and not order French Fries.

Image

Or Crispy Honey Chilli Potatoes…

Image

Or a selfie for that matter..

Image

 

Then a guy friend of the birthday girl arrived and he changed the course of orders by asking for three different things that were unavailable and ultimately settling with Tossed Chicken Wings. We loved the glazing and even though I hate chicken with skin, this one I loved.

Image

Another friend suffers from Celiac disease, so after an exasperating conversation with the waiter she finally got her gluten free Baked Chicken in cream with lovely mashed potatoes with mustard and crispy vegetables on the side! (I LOVED the beans, seriously!)

Image

And while nobody was looking, Shourya and I, ordered the Chicken Stroganoff which turned out to be the deal breaker of the day! It was so good I cannot even begin to describe. We couldn’t put our spoons down. The alfredo sauce-perfect, spiced rice- perfect, flavours- perfect, Chicken- perfect! There was nothing that I could crib about!

Image

So while you might not go to Bootlegger simply to eat (It has its name for being a pub) but do go there to try their Chicken Stroganoff!

And while you are at it, find this-

Image

Or admire this-

As a child I wanted to collect telephones. I still do.

As a child I wanted to collect telephones. I still do.

And then descend down the stairs and go back home. (you are allowed to get a scoop or ice-cream from the gelato parlour downstairs)

Plus…

“Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh.

‘Cause we were both young when I first saw you…”
Okay I need to stop.

 

 

P.S. They play loud music which after much insisting they might lower the volume but since that would take a lot of effort, simply just rise up and twirl.

