Suzette Creperie & Cafe- For the Parisien Bohemian in us!

Tucked neatly in the famous lane housing famous eateries in Mumbai’s bohemian hub, Pali Naka, Suzette is a Crêperie that should make it to your “must eat” list while you are visiting the city. While it has a branch in Colaba too, I was hounding up the village and its lanes with a friend who swears by this quaint little cafe. Upon hearing Crepes, I couldn’t say no either!

IMG_1613

The place is always bustling therefore finding a spot may turn out to be a task during the peak hours and service may take a backseat, but none of that will matter once your food reaches the table. Shruti ordered their crepe of the day that had a buckwheat crepe filled with creamed spinach and basil pesto and I decided to build my own crepe with mascarpone, grilled zucchini and chicken bacon.While I did love my crepe (the only glitch being the zucchinis being over grilled), Shruti’s one nailed it in the book of all things amazing!

IMG_1610

We also tried the Croque Olive made of organic wheat flour and stuffed with tomatoes, mozzarella, tapenade and olives. Now if you don’t like olives it may be a little too overpowering for you in terms of its tanginess but we had no qualms about it at all!

IMG_1612

With all the unhealthy eating while I am travelling, I absolutely had to detox with their kale, cucumber, mint, pineapple, apple and ginger juice and it was the freshest drink I ever tasted. Being a coffee snob, I simply had to try their cold coffee too (just to check if the consistency makes it to my book!) and boy, it was the best cold coffee I probably tried in my life.

IMG_1615

We ended our meal with their dessert of the day- Cappuccino Macarons. Needless to say they were totally fabulous and coming from a crazy macaron fanatic, this has to mean something!

My biggest regret is definitely my failure to return to Suzette for their expansive breakfast options!

If you aren’t a crepe person, they have an array of sandwiches and salads! In terms of authenticity, there is nothing non- French like in everything they serve and even their menu has been kept as French as possible.

So go and give your inner Parisien a nice little brunch!

Do you live in Mumbai? Have you been to Suzette’s yet?

Mohana Ganguly ( @ruthlessvagabond on instagram)